i have an uplink in my librerouter (say named ABCD). so added password to it.
recently we turned on another librerouter, haven’t completed the firstbootwizard on it, but internet is already available on this router’s open access points.
during the firstbootwizard on the new router, even upon selecting to create a new network, the internet still gets shared.
also noticed that when we choose “scan for existing networks” in the firstbootwizard, the new router is not showing my old one (ABCD). yet in the metrics page, the uplink is shown through my old router (ABCD).
(we did not connect the 5GHz antennas to both the routers)
we did figure out that meshing happens through the ieee80211 5GHz radio called “LiMe”
so when we renamed this id “LiMe” to “LeMon” on old router (ABCD), the internet stops getting shared.
is this a correct way to handle this? are there better ways to do this?
also when we select “create a new network” in the first boot wizard, shouldn’t the new librerouter not use on old librerouter’s mesh link?
in other words, is renaming the ieee80211 mesh id, the only way to isolate one librerouter network from another librerouter?
finally coming back to the main question, how to stop one librerouter connecting to another librerouter for uplink automatically?